This property is full of charm, and it is a great family holiday base to enjoy all that Fife has to offer.
The property has six steps to the entrance (level access at rear), is all on the ground floor, has oil central heating (underfloor in wet room) and comprises:
Open plan living space: With wooden floor.
Lounge area: With wood burner, 40" Freeview TV, DVD player, Bluetooth speaker and French door to terrace.
Dining area: With bay window.
Kitchen area: With electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With zip and link super king size bed (which can be made to twin beds – please advise when booking) and en-suite wet room with shower, WC and heated towel rail.
Three steps down to...
Bedroom 2: With zip and link king size bed (which can be made to 2ft 6in twin beds – please advise when booking) and en-suite with shower over bath, WC and heated towel rail.
Bedroom 3: With double bed and en-suite with shower, WC and heated towel rail.
All oil, electric, bed linen and towels included. Initial fuel for wood burner provided, remainder available at £3 per basket. Wi-Fi. Welcome pack.
Terrace with sitting-out area and furniture. BBQ. Shared 7-acre woodland grounds. Private parking for 5 cars. Bike store. No smoking. Please note: There are sloping banks, steps and small unfenced pond in grounds. This property has a security deposit of £100.
Discover this B Listed Arts and Crafts house designed by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott, one of only two in Scotland. Set in seven acres of glorious Fife countryside and first known as ’Sandford Cottage’, it was built in 1902 for Harben J Valentine, the photographic publisher from Dundee and photographers to Queen Victoria. Show more
Originally, the house was built with red brick walls and thatched using reeds from the River Tay. As the Valentine’s business grew, another wing was added, also brick with a thatched roof, but disaster struck in 1910 when the house suffered a catastrophic fire. Baillie Scott was once again commissioned to redesign the house and it was re-built this time with brick walls that were harled and a rosemary tiled roof to reduce the fire risk. In the 1930s, Sandford House became the family home of Sir William and Lady Walker, and during the war years, the house was used as the leaving centre for the Norwegians of the 333 Catalina flying boat squadron, who moored their aircraft at Wormit Pier. During 1960, the house was converted to a hotel and a wing was added later which the majority of the holiday accommodation is situated and has been restored, in keeping with the arts and craft style. Using solid oak beams, posts and flooring and furnished to a high level of comfort, it has a mixture of contemporary and antique furniture. You are at the ideal all year round location to explore this area of rural Fife; historic St Andrews (ten miles), Dundee (five miles) and Cupar (eight miles) are just a short drive as are the white sandy beach and dunes of Tentsmuir Country Park (eight miles).
Lady Bluebell is a ground floor apartment and is situated on the north west corner of the building. With a large private terrace outside it is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine and enjoying the views. Comfortably furnished with a mixture of contemporary and antique furniture, the open plan, spacious living area has a wood burner to keep you cosy on the winter nights. For Arts and Crafts architecture fans a guided tour can be arranged.
Lady Bluebell can be booked with Baillie Scott (CC526037), Valentines (CC526038) and The Giddy Limit (CC526040) to accommodate up to 20 guests.